project for a trip to viet nam.

susan sontag has a short story called “project for a trip to china” in which she documents her tenuous relationship to the country and her desires to go but maybe not really. i had intentions of writing something similar this winter break, but on the plane ride home i remembered that mimi nguyen already kind of beat me to it. dang.

Physically, I haven’t been back to Viet Nam since, but I can’t get away from it. Viet Nam follows me around, this phantasm that makes demands for something –I don’t know what– from me.

I’ve become obsessed with finding out what it wants.

dang. anyway. here is a piece from my creative nonfiction final portfolio: làm sao cho ngon.

Leave a Reply

